如何避免在我的信用卡费用?

0

我们很多人都知道的一些使用信用卡相关联的更普通收费, 例如,超过信用额度, 但鲜为人知的隐藏费用,每年都花费信用卡用户数以百万计的英镑和这么多的可以是一个主要的原因是他们的下降到进一步的财政债务.

银行的负责人 Moneysupermarket.com, 凯文·芒福德认为,信用卡需要开始是与他们的客户更开放 “许多卡似乎已经被设计为吸引消费者用滞纳金, 预借现金费用和不同的利率,根据交易类型”. 一个公司谁是认真对待,这是 全国, 谁最近发起了一项运动,以促进合理使用信用卡,并帮助客户了解他们所签署了. 通过放弃一些对自己产品的费用,他们希望能鼓励其他银行, 建筑协会和信贷公司也重新考虑他们的方法.

为了解决这个问题的认识,并帮助确保你不要被隐藏费用蜇, 放债专家 放在一起,你可能最终面对的潜在费用清单,当你下次使用信用卡:

信用额度超出

让我们开始,我们大多数人都可能是已经知道的原因. 当你接受了一个新的信用卡的限制将被设置为多少你可以花费最多. 量将取决于各种因素而变化,例如你的信用评分, 信用记录, 你赚,你是否有与特定公司的历史有多少, 例如,你可能已经有一个经常账户与他们. 如果你走在这个量, 不管由多少, 信用卡公司会向您收取固定费用, 这通常是约£12个. 马特·桑德斯从 GoCompare.com 建议, “大多数卡现在让你保持对你的消费卡在网上或通过一个应用程序. 一些让你设置的通知,当你靠近你的卡的限制,以帮助你避免去了”. 确保你知道你的信用额度是什么,并定期通过使用应用程序查看您的余额. 如果你可以设置一个提醒服务, 甚至更好!

提取现金

亲自, 我们永远不会建议使用信用卡从ATM提取现金, 但如果你发现自己在一个情况下是从字面上你唯一的选择, 准备支付费用. 信用卡上提取现金的成本往往是制定出在抽出的总量的百分比, 用最少的费用定在大约£2 - £3. 也将有兴趣加入到从当天这一数额开始你做出撤军. 安德鲁Hagger, 谁的作品 MoneyComms 警告, “大多数发行人收取 3 %的手续费, 这将花费£15撤回£500. 处女 收费 5 %的, 这将花费£25个″. 使用信用卡现金不仅会花费你更多, 这也可能会影响你 信用评分, 某些贷款人认为这是糟糕的资金管理的标志,将不愿接受你在未来的任何信用卡或贷款申请.

返还其已支付

如果你已经设置了直接付款每月支付你的信用卡和, 无论出于何种原因, 没有足够的钱在你的帐户, 信用卡公司可能会向您收取返回的支付费用,以支付任何管理费用和带来的不便他们. 这个量可以在任何地方之间£5£和12,从而始终确保你的资金来支付你的还款.

在国外使用

有一定的好处 在国外使用信用卡, 但做你的研究,并明智地选择最好的卡,因为它有时可以制定出令人难以置信的昂贵. 你用信用卡在国外一个装费每次将被自动添加到汇率和这个费用是相当鬼祟并非总是包含您​​的声明, 所以大多数人甚至不知道他们已经支付它. 的费用可高达 2.99% 双方的采购和提款, 虽然有些发行人, 例如 哈利法克斯, 劳埃德, 邮政局佐贺, 提供具体的全球信用卡可免于国外使用费用.

支付费用

显然,拥有信用卡的全部意义在于使上购买, 但有时你可以收取这种特权, 甚至没有意识到. 这种特殊的费用较为频繁,当您进行在线采购,往往发生在交易的最后阶段. 如机票项目, 赛事门票和度假产品往往使用信用卡收费支付,以支付他们必须支付处理支付费用. 它通常是计算出的总金额的任一个百分比或固定在一设定量. 我们建议,如果金额在£100,你应该使用借记卡代替. 如果高于100£你最好吞咽额外的费用,以换取额外的保护信用卡给你应该有您的购买有问题还是应该由公司未能向您提供您所期望的.

未使用的卡

这么, 原来,你可以收取费用的使用您的信用卡和奇怪的,你也可以收取费用,如果你不使用它! 如果你拥有一张信用卡,并没有用它在一定的时间长度, 一些信用卡会打你是什么所谓的休眠费. 根据信用卡公司此费用的范围可以从£2至高达20£. 始终确保你仔细检查你把每隔一段时间都要经过你的钱包来检查,你可能已经忘记了,并为您可能正在暗中收取任何流氓卡的任何新卡的条款及条件.

逾期付款

如果您的信用卡还款晚了还是坏, 如果支付完全错过, 对于一个逾期付款费用准备. 在所有诚实, 为什么不应该信用卡公司惩罚你不给他们自己的钱回来? 为了避免错过付款, 我们建议设立一个 直接付款, 这样的付款自动照顾. 滞纳金的费用约为£12个, 但也许更有害的是你的信用评分的影响, 这意味着在未来借钱的机会是有可能减少.

转让

如果你拥有一个 0% 平衡传输卡,你可能没有意识到,只有转移余额资格 0% 率,任何新的支出将在更高的利率收取. 它看起来非常诱人的前景转移到不同的卡,以便购买自己一些时间,并采取优势 0% 利益, 但总会有涉及转会费而这些可能是令人难以置信的昂贵, 以至于它不能工作了比,如果你一直坚持用原卡的财政有利. 根据经验一般规则, 的时间越长 0% 期, 更高的转会费, 所以记得要坐下来,这一切工作了切换卡之前,.

分享.

作者简介

发表评论

How can I Avoid Charges on my Credit Card?

0

Many of us are aware of some of the more common charges associated with using a credit card, for example exceeding the credit limit, but it is the lesser known hidden charges that are costing credit card users literally millions of pounds every year and for many this can be one the main reason for their decline into further financial debt.

Head of banking at Moneysupermarket.com, Kevin Mountford believes credit cards need to start being more open with their customers as “Many cards appear to have been designed to catch consumers out with late fees, cash advance charges and differing interest rates depending on transaction types”. One company who is taking this seriously is Nationwide, who have recently launched a campaign to promote fair use of credit cards and to help customers understand what they are signing up to. By getting rid of some of the charges on their products they hope to encourage other banks, building societies and credit companies to also reconsider their approach.

To help with this understanding and to help ensure you don’t get stung by hidden charges, Money Lending Expert has put together a list of the potential charges you might end up facing when you next use your credit card:

Credit Limit Exceeded

Let’s start with the reason that most of us all probably be already aware of. When you are accepted for a new credit card a limit will be set as to how much you are allowed to spend up to. The amount will vary depending on factors such as your credit score, credit history, how much you earn and whether you have a history with that particular company, for example you may already have a current account with them. If you go over this amount, no matter by how much, the credit card company will charge you a set fee, which is usually about £12. Matt Sanders from GoCompare.com advises, “Most cards now allow you to keep tabs on your spending online or through an app. Some let you set notifications when you near your card limit to help you avoid going over”. Make sure you know what your credit limit is and regularly check your balance through the use of an app. If you can set up a reminder service, even better!

Withdrawing Cash

Personally, we would never advise using a credit card to withdraw cash from an ATM, but if you do find yourself in a situation where that is literally your only option, be prepared to pay a charge. The cost of withdrawing cash on a credit card is often worked out as a percentage of the total amount you withdraw, with a minimum fee set at approximately £2-£3. There will also be interest added onto this amount starting from the day you make the withdrawal. Andrew Hagger, who works for MoneyComms warns, “Most issuers charge a 3 per cent handling fee, which would cost £15 to withdraw £500. Virgin charges 5 per cent, which would cost £25″. Using a credit card for cash won’t just cost you more, it may also affect your credit score, as certain lenders view this as a sign of poor money management and will be reluctant to accept any credit or loan applications from you in the future.

Returned Payment

If you’ve set up a Direct Debit to pay for your credit card each month and, for whatever reason, there isn’t enough money in your account, the credit card company is likely to charge you a returned payment fee to cover any admin fees and for the inconvenience to them. This amount can be anywhere between £5 and £12 so always ensure you have money to cover your repayments.

Using Abroad

There are certain benefits to using a credit card abroad, but do your research wisely and choose the best card as it can sometimes work out incredibly expensive. Every time you use a credit card abroad a loading fee is automatically added onto the exchange rate and this fee is rather sneakily not always included on your statement, so most people don’t even realise they’ve paid it. The fee can be up to 2.99% on both purchases and cash withdrawals, although some issuers, such as Halifax, Lloyds, Post Office and Saga, offer specific worldwide credit cards that are exempt from foreign usage charges.

Payment Charges

Obviously the whole point of owning a credit card is to make purchases on it, but sometimes you can be charged for the privilege of this, without even realising. This particular charge is more frequent when you make a purchase online and often happens at the final stages of a transaction. Items such as flight tickets, event tickets and holiday packages often add a charge for paying by credit card to cover the charge they have to pay to process the payment. It is usually worked out as either a percentage of the total amount or is fixed at a set amount. We would advise that if the amount is under £100 you should use a debit card instead. If it is higher than £100 you are better off swallowing the extra fee in return for the extra protection a credit card gives you should there be a problem with your purchase or should the company fail to provide you with what you expected.

Unused Card

So, turns out you can be charged a fee for using your credit card and bizarrely you can also be charged a fee if you don’t use it! If you own a credit card and haven’t used it for a certain length of time, some credit cards will hit you with what is known as a dormancy fee. Depending on the credit card company this fee can range from £2 up to as much as £20. Always ensure you check the terms and conditions thoroughly of any new card you take out and every so often go through your wallet to check for any rogue cards that you may have forgotten about and for which you may be secretly being charged for.

Late Payment

If your credit card repayment is late or worse, if the payment is missed entirely, be prepared for a late payment charge. In all honesty, why shouldn’t credit card companies penalise you for not paying them their money back? In order to avoid missing a payment, we would advise setting up a Direct Debit, so that payment is automatically taken care of. Late payment charges cost approximately £12, but perhaps more damaging is the affect on your credit score, which means the chances of borrowing money in the future is to likely be reduced.

Transfers

If you own a 0% balance transfer card you may not realise that only the transferred balance is eligible for the 0% rate and any new spending will be charged at a higher interest rate. It can seem a very inviting prospect to transfer to a different card in order to buy yourself some time and take advantage of the 0% interest, but there will always be a transfer fee involved and these can be incredibly expensive, so much so that it may not work out as financially beneficial than if you’d have stuck with the original card. As a general rule of thumb, the longer the 0% period, the higher the transfer fee, so remember to sit down and work it all out before switching cards.

Share.

About Author

Leave A Reply